News | Giro d'Italia | Scheldeprijs October 14, 2020

Gaviria 7th in Giro d’Italia sprint, Philipsen 5th at Schelderprijs

UAE Team Emirates were in action in two races today, both of which ended in a sprint.

At the Giro d’Italia, Fernando Gaviria (still recovering after a severe bruise on his elbow due to a crash yesterday) crossed the finish line of the 11th stage, Porto Sant’Elpidio-Rimini, in 7th place in a sprint dominated by Arnaud Demare (Groupama-FDJ).


UAE Team Emirates worked in the final of the race at the head of the group to bring back Sander Armée (Lotto-Soudal), the last survivor of a breakaway which got away in the first part of the race, and then launched Gaviria who just ran out of steam in the final metres but held on to 7th.


All unchanged in the general classification (McNulty 13th at 2’39 “from Joao Almeida – Deceuninck-Quick Step) ahead of the treacherous 12th stage, which starts and finishes in Cesenatico: 205 km on the roads of the renowned Gran Fondo Nove Colli.


stage 11 results of Giro d’Italia
1. Arnaud Demare (GroupamaFDJ) 4:03:52
2. Peter Sagan (Bora-hansgrohe) s.t.
3. Alvaro Hodeg (Deceuninck-Quick Step) s.t.
7 Fernando Gaviria (UAE Team Emirates) s.t.


General classification after the 11th stage
1. Joao Almeida (Deceuninck-Quick Step) 43:41:57
2. Wilco Kelderman (Sunweb) +34 ”
3. Pello Bilbao (Bahrain-McLaren) +43 ”
13. Brandon McNulty (UAE Team Emiratrs) 2’39 “


In Belgium, Jasper Philipsen was able to take advantage of the excellent support offered by teammate Alexander Kristoff as he approached the final sprint of Scheldeprijs (start and finish in Schoten, 173.3 km).


Unfortunately, the sprint turned out to be a little hectic and the Belgian UAE Team Emirates rider was unable to fully unleash his power, finishing in 5th place (he had crossed the finish line in 6th place, but Pascal Ackermann’s relegation by the jury saw him advance one position in the order of arrival).


Clear victory went to Caleb Ewan (Lotto-Soudal).


Scheldeprijs results
1. Caleb Ewan (Lotto-Soudal)
2. Niccolò Bonifazio (Total Direct Energie) s.t.
3. Bryan Coquard (B&B Hotels)
5. Jasper Philipsen (UAE Team Emirates) s.t.