News | Giro d'Italia May 12, 2019

Gaviria goes through the gears in his first sprint finish at the 2019 Giro d’Italia

UAE Team Emirates’ Fernando Gaviria opened his Giro d’Italia sprinter’s account with a fourth place finish in the first road race stage of this year’s tour. The four-up bunch sprint was eventually won by Pascal Ackermann from BORA Hansgrohe.


Stage two from Bologna to Fucecchio was a 205km hilly affair for the peloton, which they rode at a high pace from the off. An early eight man breakaway was gradually reeled back in before the final three riders were caught with 7km to go. At the 3km marker the pace was ramped up as the sprinters’ teams began to fight for position on a very technical run in to the line. Gaviria used his experience to navigate a tightly packed peloton, surfing wheels to stay well placed at the front of the race and avoiding a crash inside the final kilometer. The sprinters exploded with 200m to go and Gaviria, who was being guided by Marco Marcato and Simone Consonni, was able to match a trio of fast man to take the fourth spot behind Pascal Ackermann (BOH), Elia Viviani (DQS) and Caleb Ewen (TLS).

Commenting on the race, Gaviria said: “I really didn’t have the feelings I expected after the first climb, which may have been affected by the cold weather. However I tried to hold on. I really would have liked to make the most of the great work my team mates put in. The lead-out for the sprint was perfect, but I did not perform well. It has been some weeks since I last raced, so I probably need to improve my race pace. I am confident I will do it soon”.


Tomorrow the peloton takes on a 220km flat stage from Vinci to Orbetello, which is likely to end in another thrilling sprint finish.



Stage 2 Results

1 Pascal Ackermann (Ger) BORA Hansgrohe  4:44:43

2 Elia Viviani (Ita) Deceuninck Quick Step  s.t.

3 Caleb Ewan (Aus) Lotto Soudal s.t.

4 Fernando Gaviria (Col) UAE Team Emirates  s.t.


General Classification Standings  1 Primoz Roglic (Slo) Jumbo Visma 4:57:42

2 Simon Yates (GBr) Mitchelton Scott +19”

3 Vincenzo Nibali (Ita) Bahrain Merida +23”

16 Diego Ulissi (Ita) UAE Team Emirates +50”