News | Cyclassics Hamburg August 19, 2018

Kristoff on the podium in Hamburg

Third place for the sprinter of UAE team Emirates

Alexander Kristoff made the podium again for the fourth time in his career in the Euroeyes Cyclassics Hamburg, taking third place behind the winner Elia Viviani and Démare. The result equals the place that he had in 2014 and the second place in 2015 and another third place in 2013.


After the victory on the Champs Elysees in the last stage of the Tour de France and the 11th place of the European Championships, the Norwegian champion team UAE Emirates managed the best he could as the captain of the team and gave a solid performance in Hamburg.


Given the potentially dangerous move that went on the climb of the Waseberg, which contained 10 fast man who gained an advantage, Alexander Kristoff knew best to remain and keep calm. The escape was eventually neutralised with four kilometres to the finish line. He then showed a kick that allowed him to take 3rd place in the sprint.
Consonni took the 12th place.


Kristoff: “The team did great work at the start of the climb at the head of the bunch so I was in the best position and I could use my abilities the best possible trying to keep myself in the wheels of the other riders but the others were bringing the peloton closer to the escape group.
At that point I had to decide if I should set up or remain in the escape. There were lot of fast men and I knew they would be difficult to hold off behind but I decided to stay in alert to not miss any chance. At the same time, I was saving my energy as much as possible.
When the group had us at four kilometres to go, I held a good position and used my teammates Ferrari and Marcato to get to the front of the group and manage the curve at two kilometres remaining so I was able to launch myself well in the sprint, however, I did not find the legs that I needed to win. I was able to get a good third place and that leaves me satisfied


Race results
1 Elia Viviani (Quick-Step Floors) 4h46’02”
2 Arnaud Démare (Groupama-FDJ) s.t.
3 Alexander Kristoff (UAE Team Emirates) s.t.
12 Simone Consonni (UAE Team Emirates) s.t.