Video | Team November 1, 2017

A new season begins

Video: UAE Team Emirates in Magnago and Lugano for a team meeting

Our back tyre is still on the roads of the 2017 season, while our front one is sprinting straight towards 2018.
A video shows the best moments from the UAE Team Emirates’ team meeting in Lugano, where they laid the groundwork for next year and addressed all the basic details that go into a cycling team.


There are 25 athletes on the 2018 roster: Anass Ait el Abdia, Fabio Aru, Darwin Atapuma, Matteo Bono, Sven Erik Bystrøm, Simone Consonni, Valerio Conti, Rui Costa, Kristijan Durasek, Roberto Ferrari, Filippo Ganna, Alexander Kristoff, Vegard Stake Laengen, Marco Marcato, Daniel Martin, Yousif Mirza, Manuele Mori, Simone Petilli, Jan Polanc, Edward Ravasi, Aleksandr Riabushenko, Rory Sutherland, Ben Swift, Oliviero Troia and Diego Ulissi.


During the reunion, decisions were made regarding the technical staff,  which will call on members from 4 different countries to lead the UAE Team: Marco Marzano (Italy), Joxean Fernandez Matxin (sport manager – Spain), Philippe Mauduit (France), Simone Pedrazzini (Switzerland), Daniele Righi (Italy), Mario Scirea (Italy), Bruno Vicino (Italy),  and Paolo Tiralongo (Italy) on board as assistant sports director.