News | UAE Tour February 27, 2021

Pogačar seals UAE Tour win

Slovenian triumphs in the general and young riders classification while UAE Team Emirates scoop team prize

Tadej Pogačar, winner of the Tour de France 2020, took another significant win at the UAE Tour bringing great celebrations for both his team and to the sports fans of the United Arab Emirates.

The Slovenian of UAE Team Emirates preceded the Briton Adam Yates (Ineos-Grenadiers) by 35″ in the overall standings, who crashed today at -40 km and then returned to the group. Pogačar laid the foundations for success with an excellent performance in the time trial on the 2nd stage (4th best time), to then grab the red jersey with the victory on Jebel Hafeet and consolidate it with the 2nd place obtained on top of Jebel Jais on the 5th stage.
Pogačar also won the youth rankings, while UAE Team Emirates took the team classification.



The final leg, 147 km from Yas Mall to Abu Dhabi Breakwater, ended with a sprint in which Fernando Gaviria looked to capitalise before losing position in the final and finishing outside the top 10.

The fastest man on the day was Caleb Ewan (Lotto-Soudal), who took the victory.
The wind caused some upsets, with splits 60 km from the finish. UAE Team Emirates were ready in supporting Pogačar to stay out of trouble until the line.


Pogačar: “It was not an easy stage, the wind made a difference and it was quite a nervous day. Thanks to the team I managed to stay in the first group.
Then there was the crash of Adam Yates. We thought it was best to lower the pace to allow him to rejoin the group.
The UAE Tour was the first big goal of the season for the team : I am very happy to have achieved the win in the home race and I am proud of how the team has performed. I would be happy to return to the UAE Tour in 2022 to defend the title I have just won, while as regards the short-term goals, I hope to be able to count on a good condition also in my next race: Strade Bianche”.


Stage 7 results:
1. Caleb Ewan (Lotto-Soudal) 3h18’29 ”
2. Sam Bennett (Deceunick-Quick Step) s.t.
3. Phil Bauhaus (Bahrain Victorious) s.t.


Final general classification:
1. Tadej Pogačar (UAE Team Emirates 24h00’28”
2. Adam Yates (Ineos-Grenadiers) 35″
3. João Almeida (Deceunick-Quick Step) 1’02″