News | Itzulia Basque Country April 11, 2019

Pogacar continues to impress: 2nd in Arrigoriaga

The Slovenian beaten only by a dominant Schachmann

Only Max Schachmann managed to beat an impressive Tadej Pogacar in the fourth stage of the Itzulia Basque Country. He won the 163.3 km stage to Arrigoriaga, his third stage victory, and added to his overall leadership.


On a day characterised by cold and dense rain, the Slovenian of UAE Team Emirates was able to read the final of the race with great precision, escaping from the group at 100 meters before the top of the Zaratamo climb (3.1 km at 3.6%). The climb topped out at 3 km from the finish line. Maximilian Schachmann (Bora-Hansgrohe), Adam Yates (Mitchelton-Scott) and Jakob Fuglsang (Astana) followed too


The riders managed to gain a sufficient advantage over the main group to allow them to play for the stage victory: Pogacar, who led the quartet for most of the descent, could not hold off Schachmann’s charge. However, he held on for second place.

Daniel Martin, arrived in the first group and moved to 5th in the standings at 1’08 “.


“It was a hectic stage, with the rain and the cold making everything more complicated” Pogacar said. “Our team raced very well, managing to ride all day long in the first part of the group. Thanks to the work of my companions I was able to save energy that was very useful in the difficult final.

Six kilometres from the finish, I was involved in a crash, but I was able to get up immediately and return to the group, retaining the brilliance necessary to attack in view of the top of the last climb. I gave my best to try to win, but Schachmann was too strong”.


The fifth stage will put the group to the test of the tradition climbed by the Alto de Arrate (5.9 km at 7.4% average gradient). The day covers 149.8 km from the start of Arrigoriaga.


Stage 4 results
1 Maximilian Schachmann (Ger) Bora-hansgrohe 4h03’55”
2 Tadej Pogačar  (Slo) UAE Team Emirates s.t.
3 Jakob Fuglsang (Den) Astana 1″


General classification after stage 4
1 Maximilian Schachmann (Ger) Bora-hansgrohe 12h38’16”
2 Patrick Konrad (Aut) Bora-hansgrohe 51″
3 Ion Izagirre (Esp) Astana 52″
5 Daniel Martin (Irl) UAE Team Emirates 1’08”