News | Benelux Tour | Vuelta a Espana August 31, 2021

Trentin 3rd in Vuelta sprint finish

McNulty top-10 in Benelux TT

Matteo Trentin continued his strong run of form with 3rd place on stage 16 of the Vuelta España.



The Emirati squad took control of the race with 50km to go with the whole team on the front, stringing out the peloton, putting pre-race favourite Fabio Jakobsen (Deceuninck-Quickstep) in difficulty. Jakobsen would re-gain contact with the peloton, winning the stage in the technical sprint finish from Laredo to Santa Cruz de Bezana (180km).



Tomorrow marks a return to the high-mountains with a start in Unquera and finishing in Lagos de Covadonga (185.8km), Eiking (Intermarche-Wanty) continues to lead the general classification with David De La Cruz in 14th spot at 7’11’’.



Trentin: “It was a fast race as always.The guys did a really good job on the front and we managed to split the pack and put on a bit of pressure, but there was still a long way to go. My positioning for the sprint was good but Jakobsen is in very good shape and hard to beat at the moment. Now we focus on the mountain stages where we’ll aim for another win.”



Stage 16 results Vuelta España

1.Fabio Jakobsen (Deceuninck-Quickstep) 4:08:57
2.Jordi Meuus (Bora-Hansgrohe) s.t
3.Matteo Trentin (UAE Team Emirates) s.t



General Classification after Stage 16

1.Odd Christian Eiking (Intermarche-Wanty) 64:06:47
2.Guillaume Martin (Cofidis) +54’’
3.Primoz Roglic (Jumbo-Visma) +1’36’’
14.David De La Cruz (UAE Team Emirates) +7’11’’



Meanwhile in the Netherlands at the Benelux Tour, Brandon McNulty held on to the hot seat as fastest rider for much of the day before sliding to 10th place, in a field saturated with time trial specialists.




The American clocked an average speed of 52.6 kmph on the 11km course in Lelystad, 31’’ short of stage winner Stefan Bissegger (EF-Nippo).



Tomorrow the race continues in the Netherlands with a road stage between Essen and Hoogerheide (168.3km).



Benelux Tour stage 2

1.Stefan Bissegger (EF-Nippo) 12:08
2.Edoardo Affini (Jumbo-Visma) +15’’
3.Stefan Kung (Groupama-FDJ) +20’’
10.Brandon McNulty (UAE Team Emirates) +31’’




General Classification after stage 2

1.Stefan Bissegger (EF-Nippo) 3:44:28
2.Kasper Asgreen (Deceuninck-Quickstep) +19’’
3.Stefan Kung (Groupama-FDJ) +20’’