News | People's Choice Classic & Santos Tour Down Under February 12, 2018

Yousif Mirza wins the Asian Cycling Championship

Yousif Mirza, the reigning UAE champion, won a three-up sprint today to capture the Asian Cycling Championship in Naypyidaw, Myanmar. The UAE Team Emirates cyclist completed the 176-kilometre course averaging over 45 kilometres an hour.


“I’m so happy and proud of this success,” said Mirza. “I worked hard to conquered this race, it was my goal for the last 10 years, from when I first participated. This victory is important for the cycling moment in the UAE, to inspire young athletes from my country. Now, I’ll put my focus on the other important goals of the 2018 season.

I dedicate this win, the first of the season, to the memory of Sheikh Zayed bin Sultan Al Nayhan, the founding father of the United Arab Emirates. This year, we are celebrating 100 years since his birth.”




1 Yousif Mirza (UAE) 3:50:32

2 Fumiyuki Beppu (Japan) s.t.

3 Mehdi Sohrabi (Iran) s.t.