News | Tour de Romandie April 29, 2023

Double for Adam Yates at the Tour de Romandie

British rider wins on Thyon 2000 and is new leader of the GC

UAE Team Emirates strike again at the Tour de Romandie.
After the success in yesterday’s time trial from Juan Ayuso, today it has been Adam Yates’ turn to take victory in Suisse by ruling the queen stage, 161,6 km from Sion to the summit arrival of Thyon 2000. It is the 22nd victory for UAE Team Emirates in 2023.


The British rider also becomes the new leader of the race.


Stage four, run under bad weather conditions, was led by a ten men breakaway, whose effort was neutralized on the final climb, 20,9 km at 7,6%.


Juan Ayuso, leader of the general classification, dropped from the main group at 8 km to the arrival, but UAE Team Emirates could rely on Rafal Majka and Adam Yates: the English cyclist attacked at 4,6 km to go and no one could prevent him taking the double stage victory plus leader jersey.


Second place went to Thibaut Pinot (Groupama-FDJ) at 7” and third position for Damiano Caruso (Bahrain-Victorious) at 19”; Majka was 11th at 54”.


In the overall classification, Yates has an advantage of 19” on Matteo Jorgenson (Movistar), Majka is 8th at 1’47”.


The final stage will take the group from Vufflens la Ville to Geneve over 170,8 km with a 2nd category climb and a 3rd category climb at 50 km to the arrival.


Yates: “I am very happy. It was a really good performance from the team. From the beginning, we knew Ayuso would have tried to fight to keep the jersey as long as possible and we helped him. Then Juan gave me the green light to go for the win, so I tried and I pushed hard until the finish line.
It has been important for me to win, especially after the bad luck in the last couple of races: I had a big crash in Catalunya, I took time to recover and now I am here celebrating this success”.


Stage 4 results
1. Adam Yates (UAE Team Emirates) 4h40’41”
2. Thibau Pinot (Groupama-FDJ) 7”
3. Damiano Caruso (Bahrain-Victorious) 19”


General classification after stage 4
1. Adam Yates (UAE Team Emirates) 13h14’41”
2. Matteo Jorgenson (Movistar) 19”
3. Damiano Caruso (Bahrain-Victorious) 27”