News | Giro d'Italia May 24, 2017

Rui 2° in Canazei, Polanc is 10th in the GC

Four riders from UAE Team Emirates in the main breakaway

Rui Costa’s performance at the 17th stage of the Giro d’Italia secured UAE Team Emirates a podium position in Canazei whilst Jan Polanc successfully climbed up the General Classification standings to secure a placen in the top ten.
Pierre Rolland won the stage with Izagirre in third behind Rui Costa. Tom Dumoulin continues to retain the Maglia Rosa.


Commenting on his second place, Rui Costa said: “I missed the victory for the second time and it’s a pity because today my legs felt really good. I’m however very proud of the impressive team effort showen by UAE Team Emirates today, there were four of us in the main breakaway driving the pace of the leading group: myself, Polanc, Mohoric and Conti. Towards the end of the race there were a lot of attacks and it was not possible to keep up with them all. Overall I am happy with the results“.


Matej Mohoric, who crested the first climb solo, said of the team’s efforts: “I went clear of the peloton from the start and tried my best to help Polanc move up in the General Classification and supporr Rui to get the stage victory, which was unfortunatley won by Rolland. We are a strong team and I have not doubt that we will attack again“.


UAE Team Emirates worked together to push Polanc into thenth place in the GC.
Commenting on the results, the Slovenian rider said: “Right now my legs feel quite drained. I joined the breakaway because it was such a big group however it proved to be hard. Everybody was playing it safe after yesterdays’s dramatic stage and I really hope I didn’t overdo it today.
I thank my teammates for helping me move into the top ten of the General Classification“.


Stage results
1 Rolland Pierre (Cannondale-Drapac) 5h42’56”
2 Rui Costa (UAE Team Emirates) 24″
3 Izagirre Gorka (Movistar) s.t.
4 Sutherland Rory (Movistar) s.t.
5 Busato Matteo (Wilier Triestina-Selle Italia) s.t.


General classification
1 Dumoulin Tom (Team Sunweb) 76h05’38”
2 Quintana Nairo (Movistar) 31″
3 Nibali Vincenzo (Bahrain-Merida) 1’12”
10 Polanc Jan 6’33”