News | Giro d'Italia May 19, 2017

Fourth place for UAE Team Emirates’ Ferrari on stage 13 of the giro. Mohoric in the breakaway

Two finish in the top ten for UAE Team Emirates in sprint stage with Roberto Ferrari fourth and Sacha Modolo seventh. Mohoric protagonist in a long breakaway.

The curtain was drawn on the 13th stage of Giro d’Italia with UAE Team Emirates’ Italian rider Roberto Ferrari crossing the finish line amongst the top five with teammate Sacha Modolo placing seventh. The stage was won by Fernando Gaviria (Quick – Step Floors) who came first while Tom Dumoulin (Team Sunweb) still holds the race lead. Great race for Mohoric who spent many km in the daily breakaway.


Commenting on his finish, UAE Team Emirates’ 34 year old Ferrari said: “We faced some crosswind in the final kilometre to the last left hand turn which made it difficult to be in the lead. My legs are in good condition and the light descent at the end of the route helped increase the speed of my sprint. I tried to maintain a high speed sprint and that helped me to cross the finish line in 4th place. It would have been great to be on the podium today as this is the last sprint at the Giro, however fourth is a pretty good place to be and Gaviria was impressive and deserved the victory.”


A group of three riders, consisting of Pavel Brutt (Gazprom – Rusvelo), Matej Mohoric (UAE Team Emirates) and Vincenzo Albanese (Bardiani CSF) led the breakaway but were caught 20 km before the finish line, setting up the finale for the sprinters.


Stage 14 is 131 km long starting from Castellania and ending in Oropa. The compact route is flat and ends in an irregular 11.8 km climb leading to the infamous sanctuary (Oropa).


Stage result

1 Fernando Gaviria (Quick – Step Floors) 03:47:45

2 Sam Bennett (Bora – Hansgrohe) s.t.

3 Jasper Stuvyen  (Trek – Segafredo) s.t.

Roberto Ferrari (UAE Team Emirates) s.t.

Sacha Modolo (UAE Team Emirates) s.t.


General Classification after Stage 13

1 Tom Dumoulin (Team Sunweb) 56:28:53

2 Nairo Quintana (Movistar) +2:23

3 Bauke  Mollema (Trek – Segafredo) +2:38

14 Rui Costa (UAE Team Emirates) +6:29