News | Vuelta a Espana August 26, 2017

Second for UAE Team Emirates’ Polanc in dramatic stage 8

Niemiec is the most aggressive rider of the day

Stage eight delivered an exciting day of racing with UAE Team Emirates’ Jan Polanc launching an attack, supported by his team mate Przemyslaw Niemiec, to lead the breakaway of the day after 35 km in the stage alongside 19 other riders.


The breakaway group managed to stay away from the peloton and on the final climb Polanc succeeded in limiting the gap between him and the counter-attackers Alaphilippe and Majka, joining them in the short descent to the arrival.


In the restricted sprint, the Slovenian rider from UAE Team Emirates (photo Bettini) obtained the second and as a result moved up in the GC standings by 14 places to 13th.
The stage victory went to Julian Alaphilippe (Quick-Step Floors) while Froome (Team Sky) retained the overall leader’s Red Jersey and Niemiec was awarded most aggressive rider.


Today’s efforts mark the fourth day in a row for UAE Team Emirates’ in or leading the main breakaway and second consecutive day a Slovenian rider from the team stands on the podium.


Commenting on his podium finish, Polanc said: “It was a very hard and warm stage. Today we had some headwind, but there was a good group in front and we akll worked together to maintain our position. The last climb was hard and steep so when we reached the bottom I had to do it at my own pace keeping keeping a distance to the guys in front of me but chasing as best as I could and coming in second. Towards the end it was impossible to beat Alaphilippe as he is a great sprinter but I’m very pelased with the second place”.


The 176,3 km route of stage nine is identical to the route of the seventh stage in the 2015 edition of the race. Tomorrow’s stage, the last before the first rest day, is another summit finish with a much flatter preface than today. Startingn in Orihuela the peloton will travel on flat roads from Torrevieja to the finish line in Cumbre del Sol.


Stage eight results
1 Julian Alaphilippe (Quick-Step Floors) 4h37’55”
2 Jan Polanc (UAE Team Emirates) 2”
3 Rafael Majka (Bora-Hansgrohe) s.t.


General classification after stage eight
1 Chris Froome (Team Sky) 32h26’13”
2 Esteban Chaves (Orica-Scott) 28”
3 Nicholas Roche (BMC) 41”
13 Jan Polanc (UAE Team Emirates) 2’29”