News | Milano-Sanremo March 17, 2018

Kristoff just one step off Milano-Sanremo podium

The European champion fourth after taking third in the group sprint, Matteo Bono escaped for 260kms

It was a bittersweet fourth place for Norwegian Alexander Kristoff, who just missed the podium in Milano-Sanremo. The European champion, 2014 race winner, took third place in the group sprint behind solo winner Vincenzo Nibali.


“On one hand, I’m pretty upset for not being able to get on the podium, but on the other, I can’t help but be content for this fourth place since I pulled out of Paris-Nice with the flu and I had to take antibiotics,” Kristoff said.


“During the race, I didn’t feel super. On the Cipressa, my legs felt empty, then on the Poggio, it seemed to me that I was slightly better, but in the sprint, my legs weren’t that great. Anyway, I’m upset for not having got that podium spot, but satisfied nonetheless. And today, I also fell on the ground during the feed zone, but luckily, the crash didn’t have any consequences.


“The team worked truly well, above all Ben Swift, who in the final helped keep me at the front for the last curve. This is a fourth place different from last year since I won the sprint behind the escape of three riders. If I repeated that this time, I would’ve been second. The podium was my minimum goal, but since I didn’t have super legs, this placing is not that bad either. Now, I’ll concentrate on the Northern Classics.”


Behind the solo winner Nibali, Caleb Ewan took the sprint ahead of Arnaud Démare.


Matteo Bono stood out for his fourth escape over the years in Milano-Sanremo. He was free for 260 kilometres today, starting off with eight other riders at three kilometres after the start.



1 Vincenzo Nibali (Ita) Bahrain-Merida 7:18:43

2 Caleb Ewan (Aus) Mitchelton-Scott

2 Arnaud Demare (Fra) Groupama-FDJ

4 Alexander Kristoff (Nor) UAE Team Emirates

5 Jurgen Roelandts (Bel) BMC Racing Team

6 Peter Sagan (Svk) Bora-Hansgrohe

7 Michael Matthews (Aus) Team Sunweb

8 Magnus Cort (Den) Astana Pro Team

9 Sonny Colbrelli (Ita) Bahrain-Merida

10 Jasper Stuyven (Bel) Trek-Segafredo